Badulla District

Badulla is a district in Uva Province, Sri Lanka. The entire land area of the Badulla district is 2,861 km² and total population is 837,000. The district is bounded by the districts of Monaragala and Rathnapura on the East & South, by Ampara and Kandy districts on the North and by Nuwara Eliya and Matale on the West. Mainly the economy of the district is based on agricultural farming and livestock.

Badulla District is an agricultural district where tea, vegetable and paddy are cultivated. Mainly the district is divided into two portions as Upper region and Lower region according to climatic and geographical characteristics. Upper division of the district is famous for tea plantation and vegetable cultivation while lower division is famous for paddy cultivation.

S.Thomas' College Bandarawela, Bandarawela Central College, Dharmadutha College, UVA College, Badulla Central College, Vishaka Girls High School, Viharamahadevi Girls School, Passara National College, Passara Tamil maha vidyalayam National College, Sri Ramakrishna College, Al Adhan Maha Vidyalaya, Barathy Maha Vidyalayam, Tamils Girls maha vidyalayam and Saraswathy Central College are situated in this district.

【Text by Lakpura™. Images by Google, copyright(s) reserved by original authors.】

Explore Badulla District